_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
how many hours per project, time savers
drewgimpy
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 835 Posts
KitMaker Network: 350 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 20, 2002 - 02:36 PM UTC
I must say I was a little relieved to hear that most people average over 50 hours per project. I thought something was wrong with me. I read all the model reviews in FSM that say "I spent just over 12 hours on the model" and wondered why it takes me 4-5 times as long. I am still in my first year of modeling since my long time away from it so I expected to be a little slow, but not that slow. I also don't build OOB either, or have not yet anyway. In my 2 major projects I have spent over 50 hours on each (a sherman and a bulldog) and that doesn't include tons of research. Now that I know that most people take a long time I feel much better. I have picked up some great tips here about saving some time, like using nail polish remover on putty instead of sanding. I have only tried that one once but it looks like it is going to save me a tone of time on my next kit.

So what takes the most time for you during a project (other than research)? For me so far it has been cleaning up the parts (flash, filling injector marks, etc.) and filling and sanding seems. Also, what are your favorite time saving tricks?
kkeefe
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 1,416 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 20, 2002 - 03:00 PM UTC
I have never measured a build by time... never will either. I have never built anything OOB, altho the intent sometimes did start out so.

I always got a kick out of the FSM etc articles where the builder spends X amount of hours building something.

If I did measure by time, I would do it by months.

Thanks,
Kevin Keefe
Mortars in Miniature
shiryon
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 876 Posts