_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Dry Transfer Decals.
cfbush2000
Visit this Community
North Dakota, United States
entire network: 1,796 Posts
KitMaker Network: 479 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 12, 2002 - 11:36 AM UTC
I just got 2 sets of dry transfer decals today. I've never tried them before. Does anyone have any tips, warnings?
GunTruck
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 5,885 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,405 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 12, 2002 - 12:10 PM UTC
Well Chuck - here's what comes to mind:

The smoother (shinier) the surface, the better the D/T's adhere - Archer Fine Transfers and Railroad Scenics are my favorites - and they love a smooth surface.

You can seal them (and should seal them) with either acrylic or lacquer-base clear coats.

You can apply them to clear decal trim film and apply them like traditional water-slide decals. You will have to use a fixative spray over top of them while still on the decal paper, before trimming and wetting for application. I've used MicroMark's Clear Fixative Spray, Future Floor Finish, and Testors GlossCote with success for this purpose. Note: The Lacquer-based clear coat if applied too heavy will disintegrate the D/T - be careful.

And, though some might not, I lay down a thin coat of gloss before applying D/T's. This is to help them adhere, but also to help eliminate excess bonder that can also transfer from the sheet when you're rubbing them down. I have made the mistake of applying a D/T over a dull coated surface, but missed the excess bonder that also got transfered to the surface of the model. It will most assuredly look like decal silvering. Now I treat D/T's like water-slide decals and have not run into that problem since.