_GOTOBOTTOM
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
Good non-SLR or Digital Camera
thewrongguy
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
entire network: 448 Posts
KitMaker Network: 38 Posts
Posted: Thursday, November 07, 2002 - 09:30 AM UTC
I've come to realize I am a terrible photographer, I need a dummy camera. Non-digital (I still don't think the quality is as good but I'll be glad to be proved wrong) and Non-SLR. Something simple, load it on monday and fire all week, point don't focus just let everything happen. When it takes pictures of my models while I'm asleep I don't want it to wake me up either. I'd like to get some detail photos, do they make macro or powerful enough zoom lens for autofocus cameras?

Does anyone have some good suggestions?

Thanks

Jeff
YodaMan
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 1,561 Posts
KitMaker Network: 485 Posts
Posted: Thursday, November 07, 2002 - 09:58 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Non-digital (I still don't think the quality is as good but I'll be glad to be proved wrong)

In a way, it depends on what you plan to take pictures of. if you're going to use it for primarily model photos there are a number of digicams that will work great. Going digital also has a number of advantages over 'traditional' film cameras. - No developing time. If you want to find out how that last picture turned out, connect the camera to your computer and find out. -No film costs. You can use a memory card that came with you camera and use that. However, the memory cards that maufacturers include with their cameras usually are small (16 to 24 megabytes of storage, that means less pictures fit on a card).
As far as options, film cameras are the way to go. On most of them, it's simple to change shutter speed, film speed, fstops, flash, etc. I'd still like to get one of these someday. That way I don't need to worry about the possiblility of a grainy image (as with digital), dead batteries, etc...