Local, Regional, or International.
Finescale and the IPMS nationals
mongo_mel
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 1,580 Posts
KitMaker Network: 244 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 01, 2005 - 05:53 AM UTC
I just received the email from Finescale telling me about their pictures from the IPMS Atlanta Nationals. After looking at the photos, I decided to do a breakdown of the pictures taken by Finescale.

Here it is...
Sci-Fi: 2 pictures
Figures: 4 pictures
Ships: 6 pictures
Cars: 12 pictures
Dioramas: 20 pictures (3 ships, 7 armor & 10 aircraft)
Armor: 28 pictures
Aircraft: 76 pictures

As a figure painter, I happen to know that there were some 350 figures in competition there. I could only guess at the number of entries in the other catagories.

I realize that Finescale is a magazine that primarily deals with aircraft models. But with over 3200 models in competition, perhaps there could have been a better effort made to recognize other catagories besides aircraft.

Craig

PS: I was going to post this on the Finescale board but I opted not to as I am not a regular member there. Nor do I subscribe to the magazine anymore. Perhaps I should post it there. Please let me know what you think.

Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 15,338 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5,072 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 01, 2005 - 05:57 AM UTC
I really don't find it surprising or upsetting, as I''m sure that each magazine will be covering it with the photos that interest the "General" readership.

I would probably be upset if I found that ratio in a figure magazine though.
mongo_mel
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 1,580 Posts
KitMaker Network: 244 Posts
Posted: Monday, August 01, 2005 - 06:03 AM UTC
Hi Dave,
What upsets me is that Finescale bills itself as a magazine for all types of models.