_GOTOBOTTOM
 Community Forum: KitMaker USA
Want to meet up with modelers in your country or region? This is the place.
Building tracks need help
sirVLAD
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
entire network: 2 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 30, 2005 - 12:30 PM UTC
Hi I am new to model building and i got a question.I have been building tracked vehicles,heres my question.What type of glue do i use i have tried a few different types but they all dry the tracks out stiff as a board,how do i get them to be flexible?I would really appreciate a little advise,thanks Gary
entire network: 4,303 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 30, 2005 - 10:55 PM UTC
Hey Gary,

First: Welcome on Armorama. I'm sure you gonna like it here!

Before I can give you advise on your question I would like to know what kind of tracks you are using.
Are it those one-piece 'rubber' or vinyl tracks, that have to be melted or glued together?

Or are the tracks build up from individual little plastic parts (we often call those "indy tracks". The first time I read that I thought they meant racing tyres instead of tracks :-) )
Not all sorts of individual tracks are flexible, actually you have two types:
Non-flexible: glue them in the position you want (mostly it's glueing two pieces together each time).
Flexible: hereby the tracklink is (mostly) build up from more than two pieces in a way that the track stays flexible.

Than there are also white metal tracks, but as these are mostly aftermarket products, I don't think meant these?

Paul
Red4
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 4,287 Posts
KitMaker Network: 824 Posts
Posted: Sunday, July 31, 2005 - 07:34 AM UTC
Gary, If you were to let us know what type of kit you are working on, it might give us a better idea as to what you need....however, in the mean time.....
if you are using the individual links, such as those that come in Dragons kits, you might give this method a try.