_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Airbrushes
Beginner
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 30 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 18, 2005 - 07:47 PM UTC
I'm a medium skilled painter, having used brushes and spray cans, and I want to get an airbrush. When buying one, what "/features" should I look for and what specifications should I look for?

What's the best compressed air source? A tank? Thanks.
BigBrother
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
entire network: 88 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 18, 2005 - 11:53 PM UTC
Hi
I would look for a double action internal mix airbrush.
They are more expensive, alittle harder to learn on but if you get a good one and practice alittle it will do everything you need it to. Best word of advise is KEEP IT CLEAN..when you think its clean..clean alittle more.
I say this because ive used them at work as a photo retoucher and also get returns at the LHS I work part time at and that has always been the major problem no mater what brand not cleaned.
Aztec, Badger, Pache all have good points. If you need more info or help PM me and Ill be glad to help you more as Im sure others on this great site will too!
Steve
rv1963
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 1,888 Posts
KitMaker Network: 51 Posts
Posted: Thursday, May 19, 2005 - 12:21 AM UTC
The best air source would be an air compressor with a moisture trap and a regulator, you don't have to spend a lot on these, i paid about $150.00 for the whole setup and it works great.
Beginner
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 30 Posts
Posted: Sunday, May 22, 2005 - 12:54 AM UTC
Well the thing is, I will probably only be using it for one model. I don't know when my next model will be, so do you think it's probably more feasable to use an air can?
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States