_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Easiest: aircraft or tanks/military vehicles?
KidCactus
Visit this Community
Alvsborgs, Sweden
entire network: 1 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Sunday, April 10, 2005 - 12:15 AM UTC
Hi there. I am new to this hobby and I wonder what you would suggest me to build. I am interested in both aircraft, tanks and military vehicles from WW2. Mainly scales 1:48 or 1:35.

What do you think is easy builds for a beginner? I'm thinking about a Willy jeep or maybe a Kubelwagen/Schwimmwagen. Airplanes seem to leave less space for mistakes such as ugly seams and scratches. With tanks and/or military vehicles you can always cover it up with some mud or so...?

What do you think?
rudie
Visit this Community
Sofiya, Bulgaria
entire network: 123 Posts
Posted: Sunday, April 10, 2005 - 12:23 AM UTC
Welcome to the hobby.
There is no easy way to go. You have to accept that the first few models will be far from perfect. The beauty of this hobby is that you never can be the best, there's always room for improvement.
The problem with the seems is common to both tanks and planes, the way to go is to develop your technique and always do what you feel is right at the moment. There's no point in doing something just because it is easy.
Cheers!
Delbert
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 2,659 Posts
KitMaker Network: 865 Posts
Posted: Sunday, April 10, 2005 - 12:49 AM UTC
Seems to me you already have a handle on the main differences between tanks and planes....... do what I do and pick something your interested in..

I for one like planes... but am a lot better with groundhuggers..... but I don't let that stop me from doing an interesting plane now and then..

Sabot
entire network: 12,596 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,557 Posts
Posted: Sunday, April 10, 2005 - 02:21 AM UTC