_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
glueing plaster to plaster
redskin67
Visit this Community
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
entire network: 10 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 15, 2005 - 09:40 AM UTC
Hello, quick question from a thick spud, I'm pretty new to model making and just got a "german flak shelter." What glue do I use to assemble it, standard modelling glue or is there a speciality one I need ??

Thanks
bison126
Visit this Community
Correze, France
entire network: 5,329 Posts
KitMaker Network: 89 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 15, 2005 - 09:47 AM UTC
First welcome to Armorama,
I've always glued plaster to plaster with white glue more or less diluted with water.
I see at least two advantages : 1. if your bond is incorrect you can separate the parts before it is dry and do it again ; 2. this glue fills the gap between the parts and become transparent when dry.
To be honest there is also one drawback, the bond is not as hard as with cyanolite.
But generally plaster element are designed to diorama basis so it is not that important.

olivier
Teacher
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
entire network: 4,924 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 15, 2005 - 09:59 AM UTC
Redskin, I have always used a hot glue gun to cement plaster to plaster, never had a piece come adrift on me yet.

Vinnie
redskin67
Visit this Community
Posted: Tuesday, February 15, 2005 - 10:29 AM UTC
Thanks lads, I don't have a glue gun so I'll go with the white glue for now, oh, I just found the intro forum so I'll go and post a HELLO there which I should have done already, oops. Thanks again.
cheyenne
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
entire network: 2,185 Posts
KitMaker Network: 224 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 15, 2005 - 10:31 AM UTC