_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hi fellas
Beginner
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 30 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 04, 2005 - 11:24 AM UTC
First off, sorry for the late introduction (I just realized this part of the forum existed). As you can see, I'm a beginner modeller (15 years old). I've pretty much only built 1:144 aircraft, but recently moved up to a more challenging project, the airfix buffalo :-)
I am constantly astounded by the level of modelling your guys do, but see that you all use airbrushes. Just one quick question from me....how can you achieve maximum potential out of your single paint brush? Also, how long should you keep paint that's not being used before it begins to change colour?

Thanks guys, nice meeting yas :-)
SSgt1Shot
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
entire network: 535 Posts
KitMaker Network: 305 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 04, 2005 - 11:43 AM UTC
Hi Beginner and welcome, to try and answer your questions and you will get a lot of answers and most all of them good ones. As far as using one brush I'm assuming you're talking air brush. Use a duel action brush it will spray very narrow to very wide from low to high air flow.
As for keeping paint that kind of depends on the paint, oils will keep longer than acrylics that are water based. Depends on how you store them where you store them the temp the humidity etc etc ... a lot of factors. I've had oils and enamels which is about all I use longer than you've been around, I have some tubes of oils that are over 20 years old and still good. It's all in the quality of the paint in my opinon.
I'm sure you will get more and better answers I hope this helps to start..

Again welcome,
Dave
ShermiesRule
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
entire network: 5,409 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 04, 2005 - 11:46 AM UTC