Spare Parts
For non-modeling topics and those without a home elsewhere.
Web Site modeling show and contest poll
tom
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 681 Posts
KitMaker Network: 193 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 19, 2004 - 04:21 AM UTC
I have been wondering since I have alot of free time since my disablitly. I have been trying to think of something to do.

Question of Poll maybe a better word.

What would you guys think of and online show and contest like they have off-line. There would be awards and gift certifates and a small fee to enter ( payable through paypal ) or some sort. And the judges would rotate on a select professionals that would want to judge.

Because some of us can not make it to shows or go to a contest maybe I could bring it to them ( modelers ).. I have some what of a background in web sites was and OLD IT person before I got hurt, maybe I could start something.

I have been going crazy just sitting here and watching TV and modeling so thats my "Quote OCC "IDEAR!""

Let me know if it's a good idea or too much work or it's just not your thing.Just your 2 cents to have me feel out the IDEA.

Happy Modeling
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 19, 2004 - 04:43 AM UTC
Some quick, random thoghts:

There have been several like this before. One was a monthly event that may or may not be still running. IPMS Puerto Rico had one, briefly. I volunteered as an on-line judge and was asked once to participate.

This site has run "virtual" contests in the past with virtual awards.

Judging becomes difficult since you are limited to the pics provided by the contestants. The quality of the photograph will influence the results.

Keep the award virtual. Perhaps a custom designed certificate e-mailed would be better than a plaque. No additonal cost removing the need to have a pay to participate.
mikeli125
Visit this Community