_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Model Master Red Putty Question
Gunfighter
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 743 Posts
KitMaker Network: 374 Posts
Posted: Thursday, September 23, 2004 - 06:47 PM UTC
Hello all,

Being a recently reborn modeler, I've been trying out different products to find what works best for me. The other day, I picked up a tube of Model Master Red Putty, which I assume is the same or very similar to Testors product.

I decided to try a bit of it for some minor seam work on a B-25J I'm working on and had something interesting happen. When I first opened it, the putty was paste-like (as I would expect). However, after laying the tube down on my work mat, it started dripping out very thin, almost paint-like. I thought it might have been some separation of the components, so I cleaned it up and left it at that. Later than evening, I did a little more dabbling with it and the same thing happened.

My question is this: What is the normal consistency for this stuff? I'm used to putty's being pasty, but maybe this is a different animal than I'm used to.

- Frank
Delbert
Visit this Community
entire network: 2,659 Posts
KitMaker Network: 865 Posts
Posted: Thursday, September 23, 2004 - 07:35 PM UTC
Hey there in the beginning i used the model master Red putty and got some of the same thing your talking about.. the putty seperating right in the tube..

Personally I don't know what the base is for the putty but I found out the hard way that it can damage plastic.

I was filling in the rear seam of my p61 and needed a lot of putty and the plastic was a bit thin there. and before I knew it the plastic of the wing got soft and started distorting under my fingers. that and the fact that it took so long to dry out caused me to pitch my tubes of it..