_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Organizing the 'parts box'
Bravo36
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
entire network: 247 Posts
KitMaker Network: 10 Posts
Posted: Sunday, September 19, 2004 - 02:55 AM UTC
I've been modeling for 25+ years (mostly armor and dios) and have built a massive collections of assorted parts, add-on accessories, old kits pulled from dead dioramas and 'good stuff'.

I have it all stashed away in old kit boxes, plastic bins, drawers and cabinets.

It takes me hours to fiond just the right item to add to my latest project - like: "where is that perfect pouch needed to complete the tank's stowage collection?"

How do YOU organize your parts collection?

I want to spend my time modelling, not sorting, organizing or searching....
Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 15,338 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5,072 Posts
Posted: Sunday, September 19, 2004 - 03:05 AM UTC
Use to have the same problem, we modellers seem to be excessive pack rats..... (Hummmmmm rats, just rembered I need to order those Plus model rats).......
I got a few of those plastic draw thingy's you find at the Home Depot or Wally World for a few bucks, and actually attempt to sort things out as I stash them away, for that future diorama that I'll probably never live long enough to build.
I really do try to keep American, British, German, equiptment separated into a different draws and compartments.. Cuts down on a few minutes or hours of searching. I also try to keep WWII and Modern stuff separate.
Resin/metal figures I store in pieces with the photo or instructions in a comparmted fishing tackle box, until needed.
I also learned that no matter what I think, I really do not need 250 German gasmask cans, nor 75, M-1 rifles.
Mech-Maniac
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 2,240 Posts
KitMaker Network: 730 Posts