History Club
Military history and past events only. Rants or inflamitory comments will be removed.
Hosted by Frank Amato
Ulysses S. Grant
Gunny
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 6,705 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,084 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 25, 2004 - 09:36 PM UTC
"Although a soldier by profession, I have never felt any sort of fondness for war, and I have never advocated it, except as a means of peace"
Gen. Ulysses S. Grant

How about a discussion of General Grants achievements, or maybe a comparison of tactics between Grant and Lee? General Grant was a man of few words, but when he spoke, people listened and took note of what he had said. His words were always direct, and perfectly reflected the situation at hand. They also revealed his inherent modesty, his clear head, quick perception and steadfast determination.

Gunny
GSPatton
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 1,411 Posts
KitMaker Network: 785 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 26, 2004 - 04:53 AM UTC
Grant was glacial in his approach to war. What I mean by that was he was possessed of single mind and moved forward, regardless of the cost. Called a butcher, by his detractors, Grant realized his greatest advantage over Lee was his nearly inexhaustable manpower and material.

Battle after battle Grant sacrificed men to batter Lee into retreat. By the time of Appomatix Court House Grant had more troops in reserve units than Lee in his whole army.

Lee on the other hand was a tactician who nearly always had inferior numbers and yet pulled off great victories because his ability to strike his enemy in different locations with ferocity. When Lee was forced into a defensive mode at Petersberg you see his tatical prowess dissappear and he is pummeled.

The two great Generals of the Civil War - very different men, yet it was in the end the one with the mostest who prevailed.
Gunny
Visit this Community
Posted: Thursday, August 26, 2004 - 06:00 PM UTC