_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
If Money was no object!?
Porsche
Visit this Community
entire network: 24 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 12, 2002 - 10:18 AM UTC
Hello,

I'm starting to get into modeling again. Going to do 99% WWII armor. I want to buy an airbrush and compressor, etc. Whole Nine Yards.... I know I'm a novice at the moment... however, I want to buy really good tools. I don't want to wake up in 6 months and realize my airbrush/compressor really _does_ suck. Therefore, I want to buy a great one now. Any suggestions!? :-)

Thank you VERY much.
Andy
pipesmoker
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 649 Posts
KitMaker Network: 261 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 12, 2002 - 10:37 AM UTC
Hello Andy and welcome back the the wonderful world of plastic.
An airbrush and compressor set up is a somewhat subjective thing.
Depending on space available, ventilation of paint fumes (if using enamels), noise levels, etc.....
I am using a single action Paasche H with an old WR Brown compressor. I am upstairs and close to opening windows. Noise is not a factor nor are the paint fumes. If you have small children both noise and smell would have to be reduced or eliminated
There are several "noiseless" compressors available, Check Fine Scale Modeler archives on their website.
, I believe they did some comparisons on both airbrushes and compressors. For armor airbrushing I find my "H" model is sufficient. However I know several modelers that use Iwatas.
Everyone has their preferences. Do a Google search on rec.models.scale newsgroup under "airbursh" and you will find as many opinions as there are posts. All I can say is research, and talk to other modelers.
I sure hope I didn't confuse you too much
Sabot
entire network: 12,596 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,557 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 12, 2002 - 10:52 AM UTC