_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
photo etch
ACHTUNG
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 266 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 01:33 PM UTC
Guys
i have some questions about photo etch,. I never use photo etch before, and Im thinking to buy one, but I'm still not sure how to apply the photo etch to the model. Actually what is photo etch ? what i've seen so far only a metal grill .
how do you apply it ? use the plastic cement ?
how about tthe painting process, same method as OOB ?
and how do you know if the model have photo etch ? any website that i can know whether the model has p photoetch or not?

thank you very Much, Im sorry Im just a novice here
MrRoo
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
entire network: 3,856 Posts
KitMaker Network: 719 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 01:40 PM UTC
hey mate. Greetings from Queensland.

Photo etch (PE) is a thin sheet of brass that has been etched useing acid to creatis small thin highly detailed parts for models.

The glue used to fix the PE to the model is usually super glue and/or epoxy glue (like araldite).

it is used to add detail or to replace over size parts on models.

painting is just the same as painting the rest of your model

hope this helps
DutchBird
Visit this Community
Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
entire network: 1,144 Posts
KitMaker Network: 230 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 09:02 PM UTC
Hi Achtung,

here a few additions to what MrRoo has said (though he has vastly more experience then I do)....

A third method of constructing PE is soldering the PE parts together. I have never done so, but IIRC a few on armorama have, and James Tainton over on Track-Link in his buildlogs gives a very good explanation of this method, and what you can do with it. Especially in his buildlogs on the Pz I and Hornisse.