TV, Movies, and Games
Talk about TV, Movies, Gaming or anything entertainment related.
K19: You might want to check it out
sniper
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 1,065 Posts
KitMaker Network: 497 Posts
Posted: Sunday, July 21, 2002 - 12:29 PM UTC
Hi,

Saw K19 tonight. Thought it was a good movie. I'm not an expert on the true story, but did think this was a good film. I'll have to watch the History channel special on this again.

A bit over the top in a few spots and I think the very end of the film layed it on a llittle thick... But there are some very moving and disturbing scenes.

If you are interested in the Cold War and the Soviet Navy (or submarines) you should check it out. The missile launch scene is awesome. Really liked that part for some reason.

I thought it was equal to Hunt for Red October but not quite as "fun." Harrison Ford is good in a different kind of role (for a change) and Liam Nielsen makes a nice counter to the Ford character.

I have heard that some folks in Russia aren't too happy with the movie and the way it depicts the crew and ship. You can see where they're coming from...

It's 2.5 hours, so hit the men's room first!

Steve

Ranger74
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
entire network: 1,290 Posts
KitMaker Network: 480 Posts
Posted: Sunday, July 21, 2002 - 08:37 PM UTC
I have not seen teh movie, only the trailers on TV and at other movies. Based on the History Channel show last night, where did "torpedoes in teh water" come from? According to teh History Channel there never was an effort by anyone to destroy the sub. In fact it went to sea twice and had two major leaks and fires. It earned the nickname in the Russian Fleet as the "Hiroshima".
sniper
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Posted: Sunday, July 21, 2002 - 10:17 PM UTC

Quoted Text