History Club
Military history and past events only. Rants or inflamitory comments will be removed.
Hosted by Frank Amato
Try taking a class
sniper
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 1,065 Posts
KitMaker Network: 497 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 18, 2002 - 01:04 AM UTC

Here's an idea for all of us interested in military (or other) history. Why not consider auditing a class at a local college or university?

OK, I've been teaching college courses for the last three years (not history) and love school. So when I saw a WW2 course being offered at another local college, I decided to audit it.

I had two reasons. One, I love history , especially WW2 history and never had the opportunity to take this while a student. I did take lots of European history and several classes about Germany in the 20th century. But never one devoted entierly to the politics and battles of the war.

The second reason is that I heard the gentleman teaching this is very respected and really loves this subject. I always like to see someone else's style of teaching and how they handle such a huge topic in a relatively short period of time.

The course has been great! Very lively discussions.

For those of you unfamiliar with auditing a course, it simply means to sit in on it. No need to take tests, etc. So, there's no pressure on you.

But, you won't receive any credits for it. Now, depending on the school, costs for auditing vary. Usually less than half the price if you were to receive credits. Sometimes, depending on school policy and size of the class, you can attend for free. Just show up.

Of course most of us have day jobs, but if you check the Summer schedules of many schools they offer courses at night. Sometimes two nights a week, etc. This one is four hours twice a week.

You will find a mix of people in these. College students, adult learners, even kids still in high school.