Local, Regional, or International.
A novice armor builders experience at IPMS Richmond
Tin_Can
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 1,560 Posts
KitMaker Network: 344 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 10, 2002 - 07:40 AM UTC
Being a novice armor builder, I decided to attend the Richmond IPMS show because it was only a two-hour drive from my home here in Virginia Beach and my first opportunity to attend such a show.

After paying for my admission (only $5) I immediately met Ron Craig (pipesmoker on Armorama) of the IPMS Richmond Chapter. He gave me a quick rundown of the show and where everything was located. Thanks Ron.

The building was split roughly in half with vendors on one side and model displays on the other. The vendors were offering all manners of things to include books, magazines, kits (armor, aircraft, car, sci-fi and so on), aftermarket kits and other items. If you needed an older or hard-to-find kit or accessory there was probably a pretty good chance you could find it. Many of the kits were from manufacturers I had never heard of but there were the Tamiya, Italeria and AFV Club kits as well. One of the vendors had already marked his kits down 50% when I walked in the door at 1045 and another did later in the afternoon. The prices seemed comparable to what I had seen at hobby stores here but when some of the kits were marked down it was a real bargain if you could find something you were looking for.