_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Is a etch mate is worthwhile?
Stormin
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
entire network: 232 Posts
KitMaker Network: 49 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 21, 2004 - 06:53 AM UTC
Hi all,
I've got a few kits with photo etch & I've never used it before and I'm unsure on how to fold it & shape it. I've seen an etch mate http://www.historexagents.com/shop/hxsearchresults.php?SupplierCode=ET Is it a worthwhile purchase or can anyone help me with something simpler? Thanks in advance.
Kenny
MLD
Visit this Community
Vermont, United States
entire network: 3,569 Posts
KitMaker Network: 684 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 21, 2004 - 08:09 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Hi all,
I've got a few kits with photo etch & I've never used it before and I'm unsure on how to fold it & shape it. I've seen an etch mate http://www.historexagents.com/shop/hxsearchresults.php?SupplierCode=ET Is it a worthwhile purchase or can anyone help me with something simpler? Thanks in advance.
Kenny

There are lots of ways to fold etch and if it's just for a few kits it might not be worth the price.

But if you're an etch maniac, or likely to become one, I cannot recommend the etch mate highly enough!

Literally it turns folding etch into a tv-tray while watching the tube laptop exercise.

I really like mine for folding boxes and Panther fenders.

I am 100% satisfied with mine. I got the 6 in model and the longer folding blades and have made good use of the whole length and long blade. I have only had one time I needed a deeper (front to back) field to work with, and with a little ingenuity (turned the part sideways) I still got it folded.

My US$0.02 before taxes
Mike
mikeli125
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
entire network: 2,595 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,079 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 21, 2004 - 09:16 PM UTC
stormin,