_GOTOBOTTOM
Tips & Tricks
Ask about and post about tips and tricks you use while modelling.
Glueing to paint
Rudiix
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 5 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 10:42 PM UTC
Hi, i am a newbie who is building a billings smitt rotterdam. It is a wood boat but needs to be painted.
The instruction say to paint many bits before assembly. I have painted the hull and need to glue rails and other detail things on it. It would be very difficult to scrape the paint of successfully for some items such as rails prior to glueing.
Does anyone have any tips on glueing to painted surfaces. Roughing up is not an option in some cases.
Namabiiru
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
Rhode Island, United States
entire network: 2,888 Posts
KitMaker Network: 489 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 11:10 PM UTC
Rudy,
As a general rule, trying to glue to paint is not a good idea. IF you have a good primer coat and IF the piece is not going to get stressed (bumped, pulled, etc.) then you might get away with it, but I would say normally it's worth trying to remove the paint from the contact surface first. Depending on how skillful you are at applying glue, there's a good chance the paint is going to need to be touched up afterward anyway.

There is also the option of assembling, masking and then painting, but it is difficult to recommend that without knowing more of the specifics of what is being glued on to the hull.

Good luck! Send pics of the results!

Scarred
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
entire network: 1,792 Posts
KitMaker Network: 482 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 19, 2020 - 07:14 AM UTC
I've used cyanoacrylate, aka CA or superglue, to glue painted parts together. Epoxy glues will also work. But and I mean BUT you need to test them on scraps painted with the same paints on the same material that the kit is made from.