General items for sale by poster.
FS General Question to Shrink Collection
archangel571
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
entire network: 13 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 16, 2018 - 10:36 PM UTC
Hi guys. I always tried to tell myself I am a builder not collector and somehow accumulated a few thousand kits in different genres over the last twenty years, mainly Tamiya, Dragon, and Trumpeter kits. The genre ended up expanding from motorcycles, formula one cars, plane, to an excessive amount of armor kits. Getting married soon so I really don't see myself being able to get through them.

The question is how likely would people buy a few hundred kits in bulk to build up say an instant retirement stash? It would make it so much quicker for me to sever from the collection as I think we all know how hard it is sometimes to separate from kits that you have invested so much time and research before deciding to shell out the money. Trying to not quit the hobby and just shrink the collection by 80 to 90% makes it even harder.

Anyway, your opinion would be greatly appreciated. Soon as the wedding is done, I will be listing the kits in excel and posting them online.

-Ryan
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 17,694 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,968 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 16, 2018 - 11:25 PM UTC
Most individuals will not buy a large lot of kits, but individual kits that they may be looking for.

If you want to sell them as a large, single lot, your best bet is to contact some of the vendors you see at shows. Many of them deal in older kits and are always looking to increase their inventory. They may only offer you a small percentage of what they are worth though.
Mortifa
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
entire network: 267 Posts
KitMaker Network: 45 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 16, 2018 - 11:31 PM UTC
Look at Lots of Models, here is their site.

https://lots-of-models.com/