_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling Questions?
Ask your modeling related questions here.
The Creation of a Work Station
ChurchSTSV
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
entire network: 350 Posts
KitMaker Network: 88 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 04, 2017 - 02:04 AM UTC
Hello Gents!!

While I am still new to the ship building scene, I need some advice. I need to create a work station and I plan on building full hull 1/700 scale models. My question is: What would you see as being an absolute must for this station?

I already have been looking at a sturdy table, magnifying glass and some lights, but what would you guys see as being a must have? Certain glues? Paints? Brushes and airbrushes? etc, etc, etc.

I appreciate any insight on my future hobby so I can share my completed projects!!
RobinNilsson
Staff MemberDirector of Member Services
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
entire network: 6,693 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,042 Posts
Posted: Sunday, October 08, 2017 - 03:22 AM UTC
Some way of organising tools and paint bottles/tins.

Some tool for marking waterlines could come in handy (or cutting masking tape at a consistent height).

Glue: I don't use glue. I have found that "glueing" with solvents, like ethyl acetate, works a lot better for me.
Hold the parts together (dry fit until you are happy with the fit). Apply a small amout of solvent to the joint. The solvent will enter the joint by capillary action. Sometimes it can be seen as a wet "flash" along the joint. Apply a little more if it doesn't go all the way along the joint.
Nail polish removers that do NOT contain acetone usually contain ethyl acetate.

Robin
Scarred
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
entire network: 1,792 Posts
KitMaker Network: 482 Posts
Posted: Sunday, October 08, 2017 - 07:31 PM UTC
Clamps. Different types, styles and size. I use clothes pins, c clamps, small bar clamps, alligator clips, you name it it's clamped somewhere within arms reach, usually on my lamp arm.