_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Alclad question
MichaelSatin
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
AEROSCALE
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
entire network: 3,909 Posts
KitMaker Network: 134 Posts
Posted: Sunday, July 02, 2017 - 10:51 PM UTC
Does Alclad age the same as SnJ used to? I know that if you tried to use an open, partially used bottle of SnJ, what was left in the bottle wouldn't work as well. Can you use an open, partially used bottle of Alclad or do you need a new one?

Thanks!

Michael
GazzaS
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
entire network: 4,648 Posts
KitMaker Network: 189 Posts
Posted: Sunday, July 02, 2017 - 11:08 PM UTC
Michael,
I've been using Alclad for 3 years now. I've never had it go bad on me. If you find you are getting dry-tip in your airbrush, just add more lacquer thinner.

Gaz
MichaelSatin
AEROSCALE
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
Posted: Sunday, July 02, 2017 - 11:36 PM UTC
Thanks Gary, that's what I needed to know!

Michael
AussieReg
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 8,156 Posts
KitMaker Network: 593 Posts
Posted: Monday, July 03, 2017 - 05:50 PM UTC
I'm with Gaz, been using the same jars for several years. Positive is - don't need new Alclad. Negative is - I'm not getting enough bench time
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
entire network: 2,186 Posts
KitMaker Network: 263 Posts
Posted: Monday, July 03, 2017 - 07:50 PM UTC
I have not had the issues with Alclad you describe here. Just bear in mind to airbrush with low pressure and to build up very thin layers allowing some drying time in between; Trying to spray one fat layer with high pressure results in de primer melting and flowing away givign a very ugly result
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
entire network: 3,670 Posts
KitMaker Network: 527 Posts