_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Late-Night/Drunken/High eBay buys
Knuckles
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
entire network: 525 Posts
KitMaker Network: 156 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 09:30 AM UTC
Have any of you ever made purchases on eBay that you completely forgot about, but showed up in your box? How about the buyer's remorse after receiving a kit and thinking to yourself "What the actual **** was I thinking?"

Me too.

So, today I came home and this was in my box. Turns out, I ordered it about 6 weeks ago after winning an auction for $11 shipped.

SO! Now I'll be taking a crack at building a 1/20 scale "Nene" figure from Minimum Factory. Looks to be a nice kit--but I've never built anything like it before.
Bravo1102
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
entire network: 2,864 Posts
KitMaker Network: 171 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 10:27 AM UTC
Very nice. Would go well with a Girls und Panzer motif. You could skip graded shading and highlight like they do in a manga or anime.

And I know all about buying something direct from Asia and forgetting about it until it shows up 6 weeks later. Usually in my case it arrives registered and I have to troop out to the post office to get it.
salemguy
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
entire network: 33 Posts
KitMaker Network: 6 Posts
Posted: Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 05:15 AM UTC
So for what it's worth...

My problem is going on eBay after a few beers with $60 to spend... and a few hours later I find I've accidentally spent that money 3 times over!

As far as "what was I thinking"... I have a dark side that loves Bandai's Star Wars kits. And While searching for them I ran across this series of what appears to be (large) teddy bear kits.

I don't know where they come from (some anime series or something) but man I've got a burning desire to buy a couple and do some cool oil weathering on them (they are like 1/20 scale).