_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Resin rookie
Sundown
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 67 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 25, 2002 - 10:28 AM UTC
Hi all, I have never worked with resin before so please excuse the simple questions...

I just bought some hedgerow devices and sandbag set from Custom Dioramics. How do I remove the pieces from the resin block.

Do I need a razor saw or do I just keep scoring the line until it cuts through/snaps?

Also, there are a couple of small holes (smaller than a pin head) that needs filling, what do I use for this?

Thanks for any tips

Simon
AndersHeintz
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 2,250 Posts
KitMaker Network: 266 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 25, 2002 - 10:41 AM UTC
Hola!!
For cutting the resin blocks you could either use a razor saw or a pair of good tight nail clippers, just be careful!
For the air bubbles use a putty or superglue!! then sand it smooth and voila!!
Good luck on your project!!
penpen
Visit this Community
Hauts-de-Seine, France
entire network: 1,757 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 25, 2002 - 05:40 PM UTC
Maybe you can try whiteout fot the air bubbles ( I don't know if it's usefull for such a small work).
Sabot
entire network: 12,596 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,557 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 25, 2002 - 06:58 PM UTC
Just a word of caution, but the resin dust is hazardous to your health. It does have an interesting odor, so don't ingest/inhale the dust. I usually do my sanding at the sink. I use a either a razor saw blade that fits into my X-Acto knife or a coping saw blade to cut off the majority of the "pour stub". I then sand the piece to fit at the sink using the black wet/dry sand paper. Make sure you have the hull where the resin pieces will attach to close at hand. This way you can tell when you've sanded enough off. Check frequently, you don't want to take off too much.
shiryon
Visit this Community