_GOTOBOTTOM
Tips & Tricks
Ask about and post about tips and tricks you use while modelling.
Absolute Beginner needs some tipps
Svarttjern
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
entire network: 12 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Friday, October 28, 2016 - 02:59 AM UTC
Hi everyone,

I just started building kits, only one that is sorta finished is a 1/72 Sea Harrier by Airfix which made me hate Revell Aqua colors. So I read some threads and it seems that Vallejo is the way to go for brushing ( not enough money to go for Airbrush, the Iwata Neo seems to be a good start there, no clue on the compressor though.

Now to the questions

So far I have some files, a precision Cutter and some good superglue. I won't count the [auto-censored]ty brushes I have aswell as the almost empty Contacta professional which I'm not very happy with. What should I add to that?

Which brushes should I get? I read the article on brushes, but I'm still torn on kolinsky or synth and which sizes are essential.

I got some partly build Kits:

Challenger 2 Enhanced Armor by Trumpeter in 1/35
M-51 Super Sherman by Academy in 1/35
Messerschmitt Bf109E-4/E-1 by Airfix in 1/48
Tornado ECR ‘Tigermeet’2011/12 by Revell in 1/72

Which Vallejo colors would I need for those? Aswell as Thinner, and extra stuff.

I would really appreciate a little overview so that I can buy everything part by Part.

Thank you in advance

Svarttjern
Vicious
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
entire network: 1,517 Posts
KitMaker Network: 309 Posts
Posted: Friday, October 28, 2016 - 04:16 AM UTC
Everyone have different "taste" i use Revell contacta from the 90's and i love it with the tamiya extra-thinn green cap

Me too at the moment i work just with brushes

For paint i prefere Humbrol Enamel or Life Color Acrylics but also here i have my own taste

add some good set of tweezers i find a very cheap but good set on Aliexpress.com