_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hello from the UK! + Beginner advice
lucy345
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
entire network: 2 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2 Posts
Posted: Sunday, January 31, 2016 - 05:35 PM UTC
Hi all, I'm a noob here!
Ive been following the forums for quite some time now and thought it was time to get involved!

I use to model aircraft when i was a kid but wasn't full of patience and very quickly got bored of it. Ive been looking for a new hobby for a while now, and this is something i've considered for months and i finally want to do it!

I was hoping that i could get some advice from you guys. I currently have no kit... I have found an online model shop in the uk http://www.scalemodelshop.co.uk/ which i've heard good things about and want to buy my kit from there.

From reading the forums i have gathered a list of items that i would need and i was hoping someone here could give me advice on whether I'm making a good choice. If there is somewhere better to post this, please let me know!

So, this is my plan:
- I have picked my first model to be a Tamiya 1/48 Supermarine Spitfire Mk.Vb : http://www.scalemodelshop.co.uk/1-48-supermarine-spitfire-mk-vb-tamiya-61033.html for which i hope to do a build log with too (nervous)

- Due to my finances, i won't be able to afford everything at once, so my plan is to leave all painting until the end of next month when i have some extra cash and focus on construction...

I have in my shopping basket the following items:
- cement and putty:
--- 40ml Extra Thin Cement Tamiya £3.15
--- 31ml Model Filler Humbrol £4.50
--- 40ml Mr Dissolved Putty Mr Hobby £5.50
- files and sanding
--- 3x 229 x 93mm Finishing Abrasives P320 Tamiya £1.65
--- 3x 229 x 93mm Finishing Abrasives P180 Tamiya £1.65
--- 3x 229 x 93mm Finishing Abrasives P240 Tamiya £1.65
--- 5pc Mini Needle File Set Expo Tools £4.50