_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!: Ships
This is a group for ship scratchbuilding questions, topics and projects.
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
If i was a German Ship designer in WW2
CaptCrunch81
Visit this Community
Alaska, United States
entire network: 17 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 02:45 AM UTC
I am new to this forum and I have been kicking around the idea of trying my hands at a scratch build for the 1st time. I was kinda thinking about using this as a chance to build a ship that I like without getting bogged down with a lot of fine details.

I was thinking what type of ship/boat would I have built back in Germany in the 1940's if I was a German Shipwright

So I was thinking that my guidelines would be this but they could change as I go!

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SUGGEST MORE GUIDELINES TO HELP ME OUT

1. Only use things that would have been around in the 1940's WW2 days.

2. I would build the hull and probably the cabin from scratch but NOT scratch build the weapons and other boat accessories trying not to get to hung up on the finer details trying to build a pictorial ship on my 1st scratch build.

3. I am thinking I would use other parts from other kits and use them on my boat and I think I could come up with a pretty bad ass boat.

Like I said, I am new to this forum but I think this type of build mite help guys that are new to scratch building come up with some pretty cool ships/boats. I am not sure how the whole Campaigns go here but it mite be a fun build for new and pro scratch builders alike

Please let me know what everyone thinks of my idea.
CaptCrunch81
Visit this Community
Alaska, United States
Posted: Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 02:52 AM UTC
My 4th guildline, I think I would build it in 1/35 scale. because most of my old parts kits are that scale so I could easily use those parts if I needed to
russamotto
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 3,389 Posts
KitMaker Network: 625 Posts