Hosted by Matt Leese
Grex AB's
ivanhoe6
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
entire network: 2,023 Posts
KitMaker Network: 626 Posts
Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2015 - 09:40 PM UTC
This past Saturday I had the pleasure of attending an Airbrushing class sponsored by Grex and the LHS, Panther Hobbies. I am a complete noobie to the world of air brushing. Up until Saturday's class it was a hairy stick & a rattle can to complete a kit. The class was taught by sales rep Bryant Dunbar. Each participant received a 1/72 Airfix Spitfire (a nice kit BTW) to practice on. We were taught pre-shading panel lines using Tamiya paints. My lines were quite wiggly but after a few attempts they were semi straight. I was impressed with how easy the Grex was to use. It had all the features of a double action AB but had the ease of a simple trigger pull. Then it was off to painting the bottom of the Spitfire and doing panel highlights. The pre-shading turned out nice ! Then it was off to poster tack masking for the camouflage. A nice technique and quick process. The little Spit while not a prize winner was nice first effort.
Cleaning the AB was a simple affair as long as you did it right.
Needless to say, I came home with the complete Grex,GCK03 system. The TG3 AB, a very quiet compressor, gauge, hose, DVD. A very good value considering I was starting from scratch. Bryant stressed Grex's customer support which sealed the deal for me.
Like all things you get better by doing ! So my spray cans are now retired and I will be growing my skills by working on less than stellar unpainted but finished kits.
Thank you Bryant for taking me to the next level ! And thank you Marko & Mira for sponsoring the event !
Anybody else out there a Grex fan ???
Tom
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
entire network: 11,610 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3,657 Posts
Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2015 - 10:18 PM UTC
Can you post a photo of your build? I'm always looking for a better ab.
justsendit