_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
chubibobibo
Visit this Community
Paris, France
entire network: 1 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1 Posts
Posted: Sunday, November 23, 2014 - 04:43 AM UTC
Hi, i'm lester and i'm a complete newbie regarding scale models. I was just thinking of reading as much as i can before starting this new hobby. Would you be kind enough to give me some key things i should focus on first before buying a kit and starting my own project. Thank you very much. Have a great day everyone
justsendit
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
entire network: 3,033 Posts
KitMaker Network: 361 Posts
Posted: Sunday, November 23, 2014 - 05:43 AM UTC
Welcome Lester!

As many have said before me ... "You've come to the right place!" This is a really cool forum with many knowledgeable members willing to share!

A brief starter:

I've seen many posts on Armorama where members recommend Tamiya kits for starting out -- they fit well and are not as complicated as some of the higher-end kits.

Go very light with glue.

Go light on paint ... step back and review your efforts in stages so that your model doesn't become a paint-clogged mess!

Take your time and enjoy the process. If things go wrong, learn how to recover.

Start a PhotoBucket image sharing account for relatively easy image uploading, so you can share your creations with fellow modelers!

And this is the part where I sign-off and leave it others to chime in with tons of useful advice!

Enjoy your new hobby!

--mike
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
entire network: 11,610 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3,657 Posts
Posted: Monday, November 24, 2014 - 07:43 PM UTC
Welcome to the hobby!