_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Photo Etched
Sekytwo
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 69 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 21, 2014 - 08:45 AM UTC
Guys im pretty new to this hobby and have built 3 models now just straight from the box. My newest kit that I have gotten is the MENG Merkava 3D and I have started to do my research and was wondering whats the big advantage in having Photo etched parts when compared to the plastic pieces. The majority of the photo etched parts look and feel so fragile and seem like a cheap aftermarket.? Please Excuse if I sound Stupid im just trying to learn.. Thanks
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
entire network: 11,610 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3,657 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 21, 2014 - 01:08 PM UTC
Etch adds more detail to and detail items a kit may lack. Usually, it is closer to the scale thickness of a piece. This is readily apparent, when it comes to belts and latches. However, if you feel that the oob is close enough, go with it. I am an etch junkie. Only build what you consider fun.
Karl187
Visit this Community
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
entire network: 3,094 Posts
KitMaker Network: 134 Posts
Posted: Thursday, August 21, 2014 - 10:26 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Etch adds more detail to and detail items a kit may lack. Usually, it is closer to the scale thickness of a piece. This is readily apparent, when it comes to belts and latches. However, if you feel that the oob is close enough, go with it. I am an etch junkie. Only build what you consider fun.

I couldn't agree more with Matt.