_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hello!
Toad-In-The-Hole
Visit this Community
Taipei, Taiwan / 台灣
entire network: 44 Posts
KitMaker Network: 6 Posts
Posted: Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 07:56 PM UTC
Hello!

I'm Jack, originally from England but currently living in Taiwan. I'm a beginner when it comes to model making. I have a lot of free time since my teaching job is only part time and, since I've always had an interest in military aircraft and military vehicles I figured I would give model making a try.

Started with a few VERY basic and cheap "clip together" tank models from a local convenience store. They were only 30p each and, a little rough looking but still, can't complain for 30p and was a good way to see whether I enjoyed making them without having to spend a chunk of cash (I obviously did enjoy it!)

Currently part-way through my first aircraft model. A Tamiya Sepecat Jaguar which I hope to complete later today.

CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
entire network: 10,954 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,873 Posts
Posted: Saturday, February 22, 2014 - 08:27 PM UTC
Welcome to the site and network Jack. I have to say it sounds as if you are already doing the right thing by tackling Tamiya kits as a starting point. I know that Tamiya does not have all the bells and whistles of some other manufacturers; they do however have the basic rights. Tamiya as a rule have complete and clear instructions which help to avoid issues on that side of the equation, and the parts are usually minimal with a good fit; that is particularly evident in their aircraft models.