_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Greetings from an FNG
menglish
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
entire network: 14 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 17, 2003 - 03:42 PM UTC
By that I mean "fairly" new guy. My name is Matt English and I am from Columbia, Maryland USA. I am an on again off again military modeller who is currently on again with a vengence. As a kid I built airplane models and after college I actually pulled out a few old kits I had and worked on them. I have been working on 35th scale armor from WWII for about the last 3 years. I am very much in the learning phase though.
I read a lot of articles on detailing and the like but I soon drown in my own inexperience when it comes to practicing those techniques. I am visual learner so watching someone once and asking questions is about 100 times better for me than reading a manual. I will repeat the standard "I have a lot of questions" line just as a matter of procedure. Most of my questions are so basic that most how-to articles don't address them. (ie. how do I paint extremely fine details like faces or gauges?) Well I am sure that I will be able to formulate more questions as time passes.

My other interests are model (and real) railroads, all forms of history with a focus on military history, aviation, and this here new fangled computer thingy.
By trade I am a Network Designer for an ISP, by degree I am a Bachelor of Arts in International Relations with a minor in Military History, by past hobbies/experiences I have been called firefighter, railroad engineer {yes the real kind}, student pilot, and amateur astronomer.

Well this was significantly longer than I expected, so I will wrap it up. Thanks for the forum and I hope to be a helpful contributor in the days/weeks/months/years(you get the idea) to come.

Thanks,
-Matt
animal
Visit this Community
entire network: 4,503 Posts