_GOTOBOTTOM
Buy, Sell or Trade
This forum is for all selling and buying related topics.
Average price for models
JoLuke
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
entire network: 61 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5 Posts
Posted: Saturday, December 14, 2013 - 07:35 PM UTC
Hey all, im still fairly new to the modeling hobby, started a year ago, but finally started getting serious about it maybe 2 or 3 months ago, and I was wondering what the average price for 1/35 kits is, I realy like tamiya and trumpeter since they seem cheaper than most other brands, I usualy spend about 15-20$ on a kit and I was wondering if im just being stingy or if there are just alot of suppliers that will gouge you if they get a chance, im not looking for any high end kits at this point either since im still a bit accident prone, thanks in advance for any help tips or opinions
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 17,694 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,968 Posts
Posted: Saturday, December 14, 2013 - 09:50 PM UTC
If you are only paying $15-$20 for Tamiya and Trumpeter kits, they must be older offerings. The newer kits go for an average of about $40-$50. Tamiya's newer kits usually go on the higher end closer to $50 or higher.

With the newer kits (except for Tamiya, who continues to reissue older kist at stupid-high prices) containing PE, metal barrels, etc., the higher prices are not really that bad. If you were to buy the PE and other extras that you get separately, it would usually be more. The quality level of most new kits is awesome as well. I feel you are usually getting your money's worth.
AFVFan
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 1,980 Posts
KitMaker Network: 409 Posts
Posted: Sunday, December 15, 2013 - 03:35 AM UTC
Jonas, I think you're moving in the right direction. Hone your skills a bit on the lesser expensive kits before moving up.
JoLuke
Visit this Community
Oregon, United States
Posted: Sunday, December 15, 2013 - 09:25 AM UTC