_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Applying Washes
R_M_T
Visit this Community
Netherlands
entire network: 7 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 11, 2003 - 09:16 AM UTC
hey i am quite new to the whole modeling business and i was wondering if anyone could give me advice on how too create and apply a washes to my latests projects i have tryed to create some but so far none have been successful how do i get the right consistency for them and what are the best paints to use. Any advice would be greatly appreciated :-)
tazz
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 1,462 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 11, 2003 - 09:24 AM UTC
ok when you make a wash use the same color as the paint you used what ever you are building,
what i do i use a jar and fill it up with paint thinner and use liltte paint,
cause u just want the thinner to be tinted and use a little black with the base color,
and stir it up good,
but be fore you put it on the model use future floor wax its a clear coat u need the clear coat.
so it dont eat the paint off your model and let the clear coat dry over night,
then u put the wash on the model.put it in all the lines of the hacthes,
and arund where ever there is tools.
and all over the rised deatil.
and after that is dryed dry brush the whole tank.
and that how u do a wash.
what i do is was the whole model and then dry brush the whole thing even the flat places.
but i would not do that if i was u cause u are new to doing washes and dry burshing.
every body here has there own ways of doing things and good luck
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 11,718 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,584 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 11, 2003 - 10:00 AM UTC
tazz covers it pretty well.
Basically there are two options 1. crease/detail washing or 2. whole kit wash.