_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
airbrush need help
helkaissy
Visit this Community
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
entire network: 244 Posts
KitMaker Network: 15 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 01, 2013 - 04:23 AM UTC
Hi everyone

I am a beginner to airbrushing, i am currently building a commando humvee and i have already assembled and handpainted the interior and mounted the transparent glass from inside.
Now i want to airbrush the exterior and i wanted to know what is the best way to protect the glass? I have masking tape but the edges of the glass are round if i try to cut it by a cutter i risk to scratch the glass or push it inside.
Appreciate yoy help
Thanks
Delbert
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 2,659 Posts
KitMaker Network: 865 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 01, 2013 - 04:47 AM UTC
Hi there

I'd do it the same way you would the odd shaped cockpit glass on an aircraft...

A lot of small pieces of tape.

Use a good tape that doesn't have bleed under (very important) best I've found is Tamiya tape followed by Model Master.

put your tape on a cutting mat or other surface you can cut on.

put a length a couple of inches and free hand cut into pieces trying to get some curves that roughly equal the part you are trying to mask.. it don't have to be exact as long as it covers of part of the edge, then use another piece to continue it. the main thing you have to do is to make sure where the edges of the tape meet its a smooth line..

other options are put the windows in last, or use a sharp knife to cut the tape (which scares me too)

Word of Warning... Don't remove the tape until you have finished the model... I did a P-61 in the early days and really painted up the inside. removed the masking then did my final clear coat and the glass fogged completely up..

Delbert

helkaissy
Visit this Community
Al Qahirah, Egypt / لعربية
entire network: 244 Posts
KitMaker Network: 15 Posts