_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Best kits to start with for WW2 German tank?
olfogey
Visit this Community
Nebraska, United States
entire network: 35 Posts
KitMaker Network: 15 Posts
Posted: Saturday, October 05, 2013 - 05:46 PM UTC
I am returning to modeling to relieve boredom and therapy of a sort for my soul ( I am a disabled Vietnam vet ). I am considering armor modeling, but have no idea where or how to start. I have some decent modeling skills, but no armor experience.
I have interest in WW2 German heavy armor........need recommendations please?
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
entire network: 11,610 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3,657 Posts
Posted: Saturday, October 05, 2013 - 06:16 PM UTC
If you were a beginner, I would recommend you go with Tamiya. As a matter of fact, I recommend it anyway. I'm coming off of a Dragon panzer binge. They produce several German heavy armor. I don't find that they far surpass Tamiya. There may be a one or two mm difference, but I leave that for the rivet counters.
olfogey
Visit this Community
Nebraska, United States
Posted: Saturday, October 05, 2013 - 06:21 PM UTC
Next ( & related ) question......best & cheapest place to buy online? I have been reading up, and a lot of the advice & reviews seem to lean toward Tamiya.
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
entire network: 11,610 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3,657 Posts
Posted: Saturday, October 05, 2013 - 07:19 PM UTC
I use scalehobbyist, spruebrothers, hobbyeasy and ebay.
olfogey
Visit this Community
Nebraska, United States
Posted: Saturday, October 05, 2013 - 07:34 PM UTC
Thanks!.......appreciate the advice.
C_JACQUEMONT
Visit this Community
Loire-Atlantique, France
entire network: 2,433 Posts
KitMaker Network: 103 Posts
Posted: Saturday, October 05, 2013 - 10:41 PM UTC
I would recommend Tamiya's Hetzer, either in 1/35 or 1/48, both great kits and easy to build.