Discuss general weathering topics here.
Extreme weathering
USMC6094
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 51 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Friday, August 30, 2013 - 07:18 AM UTC
Hello all, this is my first post on this site and I'm kind of nervous to be honest.
About me, I'm currently a college student working on my assoiciates degree in Aviation technology, I'm a prior service Marine, Army Reservist, and law enforcement officer.
Now to my question. I recently decided to build a Sherman thats been basically stripped of everything useful and left to nature.
I plan on having the hull buried at an angle where the engine deck is at ground level, with the engine hatches open and a small tree growing out of the empty engine bay.
Heres my question......where do I start with this as far as weathering goes? I see the scene in my mind and the hulk has no paint left on it, years of accumulated dirt, mud, and scuzz, its streaked from rain and just rotting away.
I'd appreciate any help you guys might be able to give.
Thanks
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Friday, August 30, 2013 - 07:43 AM UTC
Can you get to a museum that restores military vehicles or aircraft and look at the paint condition on the unrestored stuff in the back? That would give you an idea. With your connections in the military, can you get to boneyards for armored vehicles? Those who know these things have said that US paint in WWII was pretty strong so peeling might not be that prominent. Perhaps a visit to an auto junkyard, excuse me, recycling center, might help as well.
USMC6094
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, August 30, 2013 - 07:53 AM UTC