_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Using filters - need clarification when/how?
RadekZ
Visit this Community
Warszawa, Poland
entire network: 125 Posts
KitMaker Network: 4 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 02, 2013 - 10:42 PM UTC
Dear Fellow Modellers,

As this is my first message on this forum I'd like to shortly introduce myself - my name's Radek and I've been living in Poland for nearly 37 years now .
By saying hello to all of you I wish our cooperation won't be one direction help only (at some time) .

I have recently returned to my "old" hobby - modelling. I must admit, I'm still a very novice newbie, I would say(as my list of 'achievements' is shorter than 20 built models some 15 years ago - most of them were only barely covered by basic paints if covered at all) so I'm trying to catch up with all techniques, various helping tools and 'chemistry'. For your information I will be using acrylic paints for painting process(Vallejo mainly) and will focus on 1:35 scale AFVs from IIWW era or military planes in 1:48 from the same period if I have enough of panzers.

The basics of painting and weathering process is more or less known to me after recent reading lots of posts on many forums. The trouble comes when I want to clearly define what to do in what moment of painting/weathering process depending on various painting/weathering techniques I would like to try.

So let's start with example - I would like to build an early war version of German AFV (e.g. Stug III Ausf. B - easy to build model (well, easy if you don't accidentially buy old Italieri/Dragon stuff ) with lots of flat surfaces to practice airbrushing) and try weathering the model so it would look decent, yes decent is a good word here .

First steps are obvious -
1) build the model,
2) wash it to get rid of anything that would negatively interfere with paints,
3) prime it;