_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Im a N00b
Darthshearer
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
entire network: 4 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 07:27 AM UTC
Hi there

Im new to modelling and Im so eager to get started, but I thought I would ask some of you vets a few questions.

Firstly I would like to detail anything military from WW2 up to the present day really.

My questions are probably the basic Newbies questions.
1) What models are the best to start on?
2) What is the basic euipment needed (paints etc)
3) Are there any books that help?
4) Any other informative webbys?

Also whilst looking at some of the diormas, I have notcied soldiers and other personnel on these, that seem to have specific stances towards the diorma. Are these bought, or just made by the modeller?

Thanks very much, all feed back is very much appreciated.
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 5,957 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,626 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 07:35 AM UTC
Welcome to the site!!!

Here's something on tools: Modelers Toolbox

For other useful links check out the Links on the HomePage!!
mikeli125
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
entire network: 2,595 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,079 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 - 10:52 AM UTC
Darthshearer,
With a name like that your from Newcastle eh? :-) try and pick up a book
by Phil Greenwood called military vehicle modelling isbn no 1-86126-557-3 this will
put you on the right tracks to starting off with building /painting/weathering ect it costs £16.99 unless you can find it 2nd hand Terry Ashley and Shep paine also do good books