_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Suggestions on kit to build basic skill.s
ComradeTony
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 5 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 05:43 AM UTC
A little about myself. I'm a college student who likes to mess around with model making in my spare time. I have a good set of basic tools already (but no airbrush), and have tried my best to build a handful of 1/24 scale auto and two 1/35 scale armor kits. The armor kits would be a Trumpeter KV-1 and Tamiya Panther Ausf. D. However, I've only assembled these kits and not attempted painting them.

I'm now looking for a kit that will be my first attempt at a completed, painted model. I'm looking for a kit that will be easy enough to build for a novice and able to painted with brushes. I'd like to just do something in a single color, as if it were a tank fresh out of the factory.

Thanks in advance for any advice. Feel free to ask me questions if I haven't been clear enough about anything.
russamotto
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 3,389 Posts
KitMaker Network: 625 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 06:00 AM UTC
Tamiya M8 or M20 armored cars, Academy or Tamiya Sherman kits can be painted in Olive drab and still give a nice coat to experiment with weathering. You can use a spray can on these. The armored cars are small enough that you could easily paint by brush as well. Same with the German sk.kfz 222 kit. Tamiya and Academy kits are generally easy to build, have good detail and are priced right. AFV Club 3/4 ton trucks are in the same range -WC51/52. Oh, and welcome to the forum.
FAUST
Visit this Community
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
entire network: 8,797 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,186 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 06:06 AM UTC
Welcome to the forum. Hope you will have a good time here.