_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Ridiculous PE
nheather
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
entire network: 295 Posts
KitMaker Network: 90 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 20, 2013 - 06:46 AM UTC
I'm quite new to models with PE - sure I've seen the odd engine grill or exhaust cover in a Tamiya kit but nothing significant.

I'm making a Hobby Boss Panzer I - as you can imagine the model is small enough as it is.

But it has a whole fret of PE - over 40 parts.

Looking at some of the fasteners for hatches and they actual require a sub-assembly - a minute piece of PE stuck on a really small piece of PE.

The minute part is under 0.5mm in diameter. With my aging eyes I can barely see it, let alone model with it.

If I can cut it off the fret and if it doesn't fly off to be forever hidden, I can't imagine being able to pick it up even with tweezers let alone glue and position it.

Are these for real?

What do you guys do - do you really use these bits or do you just say "nice idea" before discarding them.

And the other thing with these tiny bits of PE - they may look fancy in principle but the blob of cyno is going to be bigger than the part.

Cheers,

Nigel

russamotto
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 3,389 Posts
KitMaker Network: 625 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 20, 2013 - 06:58 AM UTC
Place the etch fret on a piece of tape before you cut. It will minimize fly off.

I use poster tack to hold the tiny parts when I glue them. Twist it into a point and touch the part.

I also use a lamp with a magnifying glass in it.

I'm still learning with photo etch, working on my first major armor project right now, but I learned a lot with a couple of ship builds, which have even more insane etch issues.
Biggles2
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
entire network: 7,600 Posts
KitMaker Network: 41 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 20, 2013 - 07:12 AM UTC