_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
At Risk Teens
gregcctrn
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
entire network: 329 Posts
KitMaker Network: 236 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 11, 2013 - 07:05 PM UTC
Hi,

I am reaching out to the modeling community, for advice, support, and recommendations.

I am an avid modeler, until recently I had been away from the hobby. I have returned partly due to getting involved with "at risk" teens. Recently I have become involved with a local organization that works with at risk teens (at risk for crime etc.)

I am part of a group comprised of people with different talents and skill sets. We offer our time and associated skills/talents to troubled teens that have an interest. For example, there are guys that have strong backgrounds in automotive and small engine repair. These volunteers will work with teens who have an interest in mechanics, there are all sorts of talented people who offer their time.

I offer my time to teens who have an interest modeling. My group is one of the smallest, made up of three, and sometimes up to five teens. However, my group is one of the most dedicated, I am proud to say that they are evolving into very good modelers. For the most part these kids can't afford to buy much, so I try to keep a stock of kits for them to work with.

I started them off just by building a model, this has inspired them to ask a lot of questions, which leads me to introduce History into the mix. As they read about events of the second world war, and the equipment used, they find pictures and read of accounts and decide to model the event. Then we get more technical, and I get them airbrushing, it blows me a away at how good they get in such a short time with the airbrush. That is my next investment, I want to get a couple of good workhorse airbrushes, as I share my airbrush and compressor with all of them.