_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Starting up Kit
robbyunstoppable
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
entire network: 4 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 24, 2013 - 03:28 AM UTC
Hi I'm new to the modelling scene and am interested to know what people think about brands of paints, paintbrushes, glosses etc..

Im mainly drawn towards WW2 fighters at the moment and am wondering would you guys recommend using enamels or acrylics,
if i was going to bulk buy say 15 colours, what colours should a modeller never be without? Are humbrol worse/better that revell/tamiya etc...

are there fillers that you would never touch again? or ones that you never stop using?

any help would be appreciated!!
russamotto
Visit this Community
Utah, United States
entire network: 3,389 Posts
KitMaker Network: 625 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 24, 2013 - 05:25 AM UTC
Welcome to modeling. WWII aircraft are great and offer lots of variety. As for paint, are you brush painting or do you have access to an airbrush?

As for color, it depends on nationality. You should be able to get the basic colors, such as the RAF tricolors, interior color, black, silver or aluminum, and clear colors like red, amber, green and blue for lights.

If you are brush painting, my experience is with Vallejo and Testors Model Masters, which generally go on well. You will need top quality brushes for best results. For me, Tamiya work great for airbrushing, but not hand brushing. In spray cans, again, Tamiya have gone on best. As for filler/putty, I have used Squadron, which I liked, and Testors, which I didn't. Stretched sprue and styrene plastic stock also work great, especially for larger gaps.