Discuss general weathering topics here.
Spitfire gun dust - how do I do it?!
skyhunter66
Visit this Community
England - North East, United Kingdom
entire network: 41 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 - 06:43 PM UTC
Just finishing off my 1:48 SPitfire Va and want to weather the gun ports to look as if the guns have been used. What's the best way to do this? I have Tamiya 'Smoke' and Flory's Dark Dirt amongst other things - its the technique I'm lacking!

Thanks
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
entire network: 11,610 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3,657 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 04, 2012 - 10:39 PM UTC
Let me start by saying, I am no expert. Actually, I'm probably the expert's retarded cousin. However, you may want to try MM burnt metal. Of course, this will not work if the wing is made of fabric.
pseudorealityx
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
entire network: 2,191 Posts
KitMaker Network: 357 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 05, 2012 - 12:05 AM UTC
A fine brush and black pigment would be what I would suggest. You could do it with an airbrush and the 'smoke', but there's more room for error with that method IMO.

good luck.
Jessie_C
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
entire network: 6,965 Posts
KitMaker Network: 609 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 05, 2012 - 12:41 AM UTC
Get some hard pastels in various colours of brown and black. Shave off a little dust from the pastels and mix it until you have a colour you like. Pastel needs to be applied to a matte surface so there are "teeth" to hold it. Use a fairly stiff brush and brush the pastel dust onto the model downstream of the gun muzzles. Be careful not to overdo it; gunpowder staining is very subtle.
woody6968
Visit this Community
entire network: 454 Posts
KitMaker Network: 70 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 05, 2012 - 10:20 AM UTC
chris