_GOTOBOTTOM
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
help with pics
mike_espo
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
entire network: 125 Posts
KitMaker Network: 10 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 08:41 AM UTC
I am relatively new to digital photography. I am having problems with blurring images. I have a Canon power shot A350 5 mp. I have it set to "Auto" and when I try to shoot close ups of cockpit/detail, I get blurred images....

Any hints would be most appreciated.

Mike
imatanker
Visit this Community
Maine, United States
entire network: 1,654 Posts
KitMaker Network: 89 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 01:31 PM UTC
Mike,does it have a macro setting?I'm using a very old A510 and get not bad results.Switch from auto to portrait,cancel your flash,and use macro if you have it.I also found out from having to re-take a lot of pics to rest your camera on something when you shoot or use a tripod.My pics may not be the best and I am not a photo head,but it works for me.Jeff T.
mike_espo
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
Posted: Wednesday, February 29, 2012 - 09:59 AM UTC
Thanks. Ill give it a try.
Magpie
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
entire network: 653 Posts
KitMaker Network: 140 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 29, 2012 - 10:12 AM UTC
Yep if the lens isn't focussing in the photo I'd reckon you are too close, lens have a minimum distance at which they will focus.

DON'T USE MACRO lol. The macro function on a digital camera does not mean you get any closer. It is a bit of confusion from the old days when some lenes used to have a slide or lever that shifted the lens group to shorten the minimum focus range. You can of course get lenses that are optimised for close ups and they are called macro lenses, confusing the issue further!