_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Acrylics vs. Enamels
Buckeye198
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
entire network: 596 Posts
KitMaker Network: 94 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 12, 2011 - 03:42 PM UTC
I've been building models for about 10 years now using enamel paints exclusively, never had a single problem with my trusty Testor 1/4oz glass jars. All of a sudden, I decided to try out acrylics (the enamel fumes can be a bit overwhelming sometimes...) and I have been SO miserable with them! The paints won't stick to the plastic, I can never get them thinned correctly, I spent a bunch of money on a new AB for them and it's just sputtering out junk. I'm about ready to throw in the towel on the acrylics. This is just BS. (I know and acknowledge that I am most likely the cause of the problem, but seriously, how can acrylics be so much more work compared to enamels??)
Magpie
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
entire network: 653 Posts
KitMaker Network: 140 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 12, 2011 - 06:28 PM UTC
I guess it comes down to what your used to, I find similar frustrations with enamels ! lol

I like acrylics for their speed, ease of clean up and their even results.

Trouble sticking? Clean em up and Use primer , top coat when your done.

I use Tamiya mainly and 50/50 out of the airbrush goes on great and with the brush I guess about the same ratio.

I also love that if you make a total cock up you can just whip out the ammonia and your back to where you stated.

I don't get good results with enamels as I am too clumsy and impatient and the clean up is a pain.
Plasticbattle
Visit this Community
Donegal, Ireland
entire network: 9,763 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,351 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 12, 2011 - 09:23 PM UTC