_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
For a first-time PE builder...
Neulingkerl
Visit this Community
Delaware, United States
entire network: 65 Posts
KitMaker Network: 6 Posts
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 - 11:25 AM UTC
Can anyone give me some tips on how exactly to go about working with PE? I don't have any jigs, and am relatively limited in terms of needle-nose pliers, etc.

Essentially I'm very new to serious modelling, and have up until now only been working with kits that were entirely styrene. So now I have a Bronco M1114 HA on my workbench and this nice fat sheet of brass that I'm not entirely sure where to start with.

Any advice would be MUCH appreciated, especially from those who may have built slash are building the same kit!!

Neu
panzerbob01
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
entire network: 3,128 Posts
KitMaker Network: 169 Posts
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 - 03:19 PM UTC
Neuling...;

Hi!

Just look around this site, and just wait! There are LOTS of really talented PE folks and all sorts of experts who can help...! And NO, I am decidedly NOT either!

BUT, being a relative PE-noob myself... I can sympathize and maybe offer a few suggestions as you start:

I do use the stuff that comes in the kits; I use a good pair of small needle-nose pliers (the sort available at Radio-Shack or Sears or...), and more recently a "Hold N Fold" PE tool. MOST bits seem to be formable with only a couple of bends, which can often be done with the pliers or tweezers. Curves can usually be formed around dowel-rod or other round forms. Having a hardwood, hard plastic or hard rubber cutting surface to work on is good.

STUDY the kit instructions AND learn where what PE piece goes - some are more essential to the kit than are others, and some more complex to make than others. Start your PE experience with the simpler bits.