_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
New To WW2 Armor Modeling
xCrAnkDatx420
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 2 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 06, 2011 - 11:12 PM UTC
So my name is Kevin and i am completely new to WW2 Modeling. My uncle has been modeling ever since i can remember and i think he is what sparked my interest in WW2 history. Right now i am building a Panther Ausf. A, and i pretty much suck, cause i dont have all the proper tools / equipment / knowhow. The kit is only $20 so im not worried about the end product, its mostly for practice. But i am open to constructive critisism and will upload pics as i can. Before we even start to critisize though , i'd like to point out that i do not own an airbrush (yet) and have hand painted the bottom half of the hull and the road wheels (it looks sh****) but i will be purchasing an airbrush within the upcoming week. Any suggestions on a airbrush that i can use in the Barracks? (indoor safe but still cheap)
mockba
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
entire network: 9 Posts
KitMaker Network: 7 Posts
Posted: Thursday, April 07, 2011 - 02:41 AM UTC
First of all, welcome to the club. I assume you are in the service. Always get the best detail from the military. Now. I would recomend you stay pretty basic with Revell, to start. These models are fairly cheap and will allow you to hone your skills. As far as using an airbrush inside, you will need a spray booth and somewhere to run a vent hose. Iwata makes some of the best airbrushes. I currently have a Badger 150 and very few problems. You can buy a starter set from Testors/Aztech. This includes the airbrush, fittings, hose, a propellant and will run you about $30. If you want to run a compressor, there are several hobby compressors available. Again, I use an old Badger compressor and it is very quiet.
retiredyank
Visit this Community