_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
New to Modelling
Catfish787
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 2 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 04:09 AM UTC
Hello everyone, I am relatively new to modeling and would like some good advice from many of you "gurus". I got my first military model kit the other day, a Tamiya Honomag Sdkfz25. I don't have a problem building any of the models, but I would like some tips, links or anything to help paint it. I don't have any airbrushes by the way, only paint brushes.
I need help on many things like:
•How do I clean my brush properly?
•What consistency should my paint be and how do I make it thinner/thicker?
•Any other tips on how to paint military vehicles?
•What tools should I have to paint the model properly?

I will appreciate any help. Thank you.
mmeier
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
entire network: 1,280 Posts
KitMaker Network: 213 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 07:41 AM UTC
+ What colors do you use? Different colors need different cleaners

+ What tips on painting are you looking for? Camouflage patterns or general painting tips? Or "weathering" (Making a vehicle look "used")

+ Even tools depend on the color used. I.e Revell or Tamiya need more stuff than Valleyo

As for tools: Brushes, some small, low containers to mix or thin colors (Tamiya has some flat metal cups but the screw caps from a coffein-laces carbonated drink also work). Depending on the colors used a small pipette for drawing paint or thinner might be useful
Jmarles
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
entire network: 1,138 Posts
KitMaker Network: 166 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 20, 2011 - 10:04 AM UTC
Welcome to the world of modelling! Your kit, which I have built a few times, is a good starting point for beginners. It's a quick and easy build.